Mildly Irritating Day in Houston

One of the main pitfalls of trucking is shippers and receivers. We show up on time, but they don’t respect our clock. They get to work their 8-12 hour shift and go home. If they take longer than my 14, I’m stuck. I do realize that there are plenty of drivers that are late and expect to get in and out. I’m not one of those people. If I’m late, I totally expect to sit and wait.

If you can’t tell, that’s my situation for the day. I had a delivery at 0100 and the next at 0900. My clock is down to less than an hour, and here I sit. 30 miles from a truck top, and not enough time to get there. I know that this is trucking, and these things happen from time to time, but seriously people!

I also wish that dispatch would take these things in to account also. I told the dispatcher that I couldn’t make my deliveries on time, but she didn’t change the appointments. I was very late, and then everything went to hell in a handbasket…literally since I’m in Houston and it’s one hot son of a gun out here!

With a load number like 03666064 I should’ve known it would be a doozie. I’m hot, tired, and frustrated. Probably not the wisest time to be making a blog post, but this is trucking at it’s finest.

Leave a Reply

